• 2017 Keith Lucas Model Citizen Winners Announced

    Boys State has two separate ‘Model Citizen’ awards that are given each years. One, the Keith Lucas award is given to the citizen that is determined to be the model citizen by their peers in each county. These initial eight citizens are then interviewed by senior counselors to determine the final winners. Even being considered […]

  • 2017 Paul Brown Officers Leadership Award Winners Announced

    The Paul Brown Officers Leadership Award is awarded to the state level elected official, except the Governor who receives a separate scholarship award, who best exemplified what Boys State is all about throughout the election process. There is also an interview process in front of senior counselors. This year’s Paul Brown Officers Leadership Award winner […]

  • 2017 Illinois Samsung Winner Announced

    Every year there is a scholarship program sponsored by Samsung. This program awards scholarships at both the state and national levels. The scholarship program was created for the descendants of the Korean War. The 2016 winner for Illinois is Kyle Campbell of Riverton.

  • 2017 John Geiger Award Winners Announced

    There are several scholarships available during each session with various requirements. The John Geiger Leadership Award was named in honor of the first Boys State alum to serve as National Commander of the American Legion. In order to be eligible for this award, you must serve as the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, the […]

  • 2017 Boys Nation Senators Announced

    By being on this site, you are aware of the Boys State program. You might not be aware that there is a Boys State across the country. There is also a Boys Nation program where two Senators from each Boys State go to represent their state. The Boys Nation program is very similar to the […]

  • 2017 Essay Contest Winners Announced

    The winners of the 2017 Boys State Essay contest have been announced. This year’s winner is Joseph Rice of Grayslake. The runner up is Nathan Ruhde of Aurora. The third place winner this year is Peter Wacnik of Libertyville.

  • 2017 Oration Contest Winners Announced

    The winners of the 2017 Oration Contest have been announced. This year’s winner is Michael Ten Eyck of Pittsfield. The runner up this year is Justin Julian of Rochelle. The third place finisher is Kyle Knudsen of Round Lake.

  • 2017 Overall Model County Winners Announced

    Every year there are a number of awards that are given out for individual accomplishments. We also hold a Model County contest to recognize the county that best worked together to accumulate the most model county points. These points are gained by participating in various events like the essay and oration contests, correctly documenting county […]

  • State Primary Elections Are Coming Soon

    Today is a very important day at Boys State. Most elections here go from Caucus to voting fairly quickly. However state level elections are the only ones here that have a primary. It also has a more complicated process to get into that primary. Between the nominating petition and the mandatory meeting around lunch time […]

  • Farewell My Fellow Citizens

    Well gentleman, this week has finally come to an end. As we say our good byes and ponder all the great memories that we have made, I want to ask all of you a questions. What was something that you actually took away from this program that will change your view on the future. How […]

  • Boys State Announces Oration Contest Finalists

    Congratulations to the 2017 Oration Finalists (in alphabetical order):   Andrehyu, Allen – Savage Bahr, Nick – Kennedy Dorociak, Daniel – Gleason Julian, Justin – Savage Knudsen, Kyle – Kennedy Miller, Ryan – Kennedy Rajendran, Suraj – Hayes Schreder, Luke – Savage Svob, William – Conater Ten Eyck, Michael – Conatser The finals will be […]

  • Meet the Counties #2

    Welcome back to the second annual Meet The Counties! It’s been quite an eventful week for our respective counties and cities. There have been wars waged and disputes sprawled throughout the state. Fun and laughs have been shared all through the the different counties. Now for your juicy county news.       Conatser County […]