• 2016 Joe McCraith Model Citizen Award Winners Announced

    Boys State has two separate ‘Model Citizen’ awards that are given each years. One, the Joe McCraith award is given to the citizen that is determined to be the model citizen by the counselors in each county. These initial eight citizens are then interviewed by senior counselors to determine the final winners. Even being considered […]

  • 2016 Session John Geiger Award Winners Announced

    There are several scholarships available during each session with various requirements. The John Geiger Leadership Award was named in honor of the first Boys State alum to serve as National Commander of the American Legion. In order to be eligible for this award, you must serve as the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, the […]

  • 2016 Oration Contest Winners Announced

    The winners of the 2016 Oration Contest have been announced. This year’s winner is Alexander Shura of Naperville. The runner up is Archit Dhar of Naperville. The third place entry was submitted by Adam Raso of Dunlap. Thank you to all of those who submitted entries and congratulations to those who won.

  • Winners of the 2016 Essay Contest Announced

    The winners of the 2016 Essay Contest have been announced. Thank you to all those who submitted entries and congratulations to those who won. The winner of the 2016 essay contest is Rohan Macherla of Plainfield. The second place entry was submitted by Nicholas Schuster of Batavia. Michael Petrik of Elburn submitted the third place […]

  • 2016 Illinois Samsung Winner Announced

    Every year there is a scholarship program sponsored by Samsung. This program awards scholarships at both the state and national levels. The scholarship program was created for the descendants of the Korean War. The 2016 winner for Illinois is Alexander Shura of Naperville.

  • Thank you for your hard work

    Throughout the week there are a number of citizens that put in a lot of work leading groups and making various events go as smoothly as possible. Many of these citizens don’t always get the recognition of giving being singled out at the front of the assembly or being mentioned during the media segments. We’d […]

  • 2016 State Elected Officials Announced

    The State General Election has concluded and the winners have been sworn in. Congrats to those who succeeded in winning their elections, and well done to all of those who ran in both the general and the primary elections. Your 2016 Governor, is Kevin Mallady of Danville. The new Lt. Governor is Archit Dhar of […]

  • Oration Finalists Announced

    The 2016 oration contest finalists were announced. The second and final round of the contest will be held Thursday afternoon at 12:30pm at Lumpkin Auditorium. The list of finalists in alphabetical order and not speaking order are as follows: Brunner, Trevor – Hayes Dhar, Archit – Gleason Duffy, Chris – Stelle Gajula, Tejas – Hayes […]

  • Upcoming State Conventions

    The time is approaching for what is for many the most memorable part of the week here. The primary election convention speeches. There will be some seriousness, some music, some genuine comedy. It is interesting to see what ways the citizens come up with to make themselves stand out among all of the other candidates. […]

  • Momentum is Building

    As we reach midday on Monday, you can really feel the energy around campus. Classes have started, the second election cycle, this time for county offices, is about over. The first city council meetings have occurred, alliances are being made, planning for future events are underway. The citizens are learning how to work with the […]

  • State Treasurer Visits Boys State

    It should come as little surprise to anyone that Illinois Premier Boys State affords invaluable experiences and opportunities to each and every one of its citizens. Moreover, when Michael Frerichs, a distinguished member of the program’s 55th session, rose to the position of Illinois State Treasurer, the occasion was met with a feeling of reverence. […]

  • Memorial Service Remembers the Past

    Sunday night’s General Assembly is not really an assembly in the usual meaning of the word. There are no discussions of Model County, no chanting or cheering by the citizens. It is a solemn gathering of citizens of all ages to gather together and reflect on the past, contemplate the present and dream for the […]